A Near-InfraRed IFS and Imager


We are designing a 2nd generation adaptive optics­ fed integral field spectrograph (IFS) for the W. M. Keck Observatory. This innovative spectrograph, referred to as Liger, will take advantage of the improved Keck Adaptive Optics (AO) performance and advancements in large format near­ infrared detectors. A next generation facility­ class imager and spectrograph is crucial for exploring a wide­range of science cases, such as distant galaxies, exoplanets, supermassive black holes, nearby star forming regions, the Galactic Center, and Solar System bodies. Liger will offer a near ­infrared imaging camera at bluer wavelengths than currently offered by the Keck AO instrumentation suite. The IFS will enable new science by offering enhanced capabilities such as higher spectral resolving power, bluer wavelengths, and larger field of views compared to any existing and future ground­ and space­based IFS systems. Liger will leverage existing designs from the first light Thirty Meter Telescope (TMT) instrument IRIS (Larkin et al. 2016, Wright et al. 2016).

LIGER Specifications


LIGER Team Members

LIGER is a multi-institutional collaboration.

  • PI: Shelley Wright (UCSD)
  • PS: Tucker Jones (UCD)
  • Instrument Scientist: James Larkin (UCLA)

    LIGER Technical team members:

  • Aaron Brown, UC San Diego
  • Maren Cosens, UC San Diego
  • Michael Fitzgerald, UCLA
  • Marc Kassis, Keck
  • Renate Kupke, UC Santa Cruz
  • Evan Kress, UCLA
  • Chris Johnson, UCLA
  • Tucker Jones, UC Davis
  • James Larkin, UCLA
  • Ken Magone, UCLA
  • Jerome Maire, UCSD
  • Ji-Man Sohn, UCLA
  • Arun Surya, UCSD
  • Eric Wang, UCLA
  • James Wiley, UC San Diego
  • Shelley Wright, UC San Diego
  • Sherry Yeh, Keck
  • Andrea Zonca, UC San Diego

    LIGER Science team members:

  • Lee Armus, Caltech/IPAC
  • Maren Cosens, UC San Diego
  • Tuan Do, UCLA
  • Chris Fassnacht, UC Davis
  • Deanne Fisher, Swinburne
  • Michael Fitzgerald, UCLA
  • Andrea Ghez, UCLA
  • Jenny Greene, Princeton
  • Aurelien Hees, Paris Observatory
  • Jessie Hirtenstein, UC Davis
  • Tucker Jones, UC Davis
  • Jacqueline Keane, Hawaii
  • Pat Kelly, Minnesota
  • Evan Kirby, Caltech
  • Quinn Konopacky, UC San Diego
  • James Larkin, UCLA
  • Jessica Lu, UC Berkeley
  • Mark Marley, NASA Ames
  • Anne Medling, U Toledo
  • Max Millar-Blanchaer, UCSB
  • Quinn Minor, BMCC
  • Anna Nierenberg, UC Merced
  • Naveen Reddy, UC Riverside
  • Michael Rich, UCLA
  • Jean-Bapiste Ruffio, Caltech
  • David Sand, U Arizona
  • Ryan Sanders, UCLA
  • Karin Sandstrom, UC San Diego
  • Alice Shapley, UCLA
  • Tommaso Treu, UCLA
  • Mike Wong, UC Berkeley
  • Shelley Wright, UC San Diego